WELCOME TO MINNEAPOLIS PUBLIC SCHOOLS ATHLETIC REGISTRATION!
       

Click HERE to make Online Payments

 

Click the Icon below to Register for a Sport

Athletic Team Registration

 

Language for "Playing Up"

As you aware, MPS has historically allowed middle school students who have the requisite interest, skills and abilities to try out for, and perhaps join, a high school athletic team.

Prior to the CDD boundary reassignments, the athletic department paired middle schools, and small or specialty high schools, with large comprehensive high schools to allow opportunities for students to play up. It is now necessary to change those pairings to be consistent with CDD values and guidelines regarding prioritizing community schools.

After significant discussion, SLT is recommending that all middle school athletes be informed that they can seek the opportunity to “play up” at their designated community high school based on their home address in our Discovery system. This would be consistently applied even to current 8th graders who may have played up at a different school as 6th or 7th graders. 

The only exceptions would be:

  • Middle school students currently attending the dual language program at Andersen Middle would be eligible to try and play up at their pathway school (Roosevelt) if they sign an intent form stating that they plan to attend Roosevelt’s dual language pathway. That form would be filed with the District Athletic office.
  • Middle school students currently attending the American Indian program at Sanford or Northeast would be eligible to try and play up at South High school if they sign an intent form stating that they plan to attend South’s All Nations pathway. That form would be filed with the District Athletic office.

In addition, an out-of-district middle school athlete is only eligible to participate in sports at their assigned middle school.

 

Physical Examination

Athletes must have a current sports qualifying physical exam on file in the Athletic Office. Physicals are good for 36 months from the exact date of the last physical unless noted differently by the doctor.

Once you have your physical completed by a doctor, you can turn it into the Athletic Office or you can scan it and submit the completed Physical Forms online.

We are encouraging student athletes to get fully vaccinated which is consistent with a recent MPS Board of Education resolution that would make students ineligible to play sports unless they show weekly negative COVID-19 test results or proof of vaccination. The Board will vote on this proposal at their November Board meeting. Students ages 12-18 can earn a $200 gift card and register to win a $100,000 college scholarship by participating in the Kids Deserve a Shot Program sponsored by the State of Minnesota. You can find vaccine locations here.

If you have questions or need assistance with the online registration process, please contact your Building Athletic Director immediately as their contact information can be found within the list below.
 

High School  Athletic Director Phone Email Address

 

Edison

 

Brett McNeal, CMAA

 

688-1344

 

brett.mcneal@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

FAIR

 

Lisa Dornacker

 

668-1947

 

lisa.dornacker@mpls.k12.mn.us 

 

Heritage 

 

Adam Flanders

 

668-4859

 

adam.flanders@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

North

 

Kale Severson

 

668-1706

 

kale.severson@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Patrick Henry   

 

Lisa Dornacker

 

668-1947

 

lisa.dornacker@mpls.k12.mn.us 

 

Roosevelt

 

Adam Flanders

 

668-4859

 

adam.flanders@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

South

 

Amy Cardarelle

 

668-4324

 

amy.cardarelle@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Southwest

 

Jared Mountain

 

668-3035

 

jared.mountain@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Washburn

 

Giovan Jenkins, M.S.

 

668-3456

 

giovan.jenkins@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Wellstone Int'l

 

Amy Cardarelle

 

668-4324

 

amy.cardarelle@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

 

Middle School  Athletic Director Phone Email Address

 

Andersen

 

Sherron Rowell

 

688-4250

 

sherron.rowell@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Anthony

 

Dempsey Miller III

 

668-3240

 

dempsey.miller@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Anwatin

 

Kevin Jackson

 

688-2452

 

kevin.jackson@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Ella Baker   

 

Henry Tyler

 

668-2720

 

henry.tyler@mpls.k12.mn.us 

 

Franklin

 

Steven Williams

 

668-7377

 

steven.williams@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Justice Page

 

Jordan King

 

668-4036

 

jordan.king@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Northeast

 

Cory Luckett

 

668-1500

 

Cory.luckett@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Olson

 

Elliott Woody

 

668-1640

 

elliott.woody@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Sanford

 

Albert Pitt

 

668-4902

 

albert.pitt@mpls.k12.mn.us

 

Sullivan

 

Andrew Ortega

 

688-5000

 

andrew.ortega@mpls.k12.mn.us